Dallas Buyers Club: Movie

Hey guys, how’s it going? Rahul here coming in with a brand new blog! Hopefully everyone has had an amazing week! I have definitely had one of my bests! I had a great vacation, got my xBox set up, got a 10 CGPA in my exams! Couldn’t ask for more! So let’s begin the review of this movie, Dallas Buyers Club!

 

About:

This biographical drama film was directed by Jean-Marc Valée and was released in November. 2013.

Duration: 1 hour 56 minutes (116 minutes)

Characters:

  • Ron Woodroof (Matthew McConaughey)
  • Dr. Eve Saks (Jennifer Garner)
  • Rayon (Jared Leto)

 

Story:

The story is about the man. Ron Woodroof, who is diagnosed with HIV. He is given a medicine relatively new to the market that is slowly killing him inside. After he realizes this, begins a war between him and the FDA. He finds another medicine to help cure him and starts the Dallas Buyers Club for all those suffering like him and gives them medicine for their cure. Thus displayed is the absolutely crazy life of Ron Woodroof.

 

Review:

Firstly I must say this movie is fantastically made. Everything I saw, from the beginning to the end was just absolutely entertaining, interesting, dramatic, realistic etc. LOVED IT! I really appreciate how much work and effort Matthew McConaughey put into making this film. He really transformed himself into this incredible character that just added to the perfection of this film. I also really appreciate the realism in this film. Nothing of the film made it actually feel like a movie (apart form the fact that we were watching it on a screen). The directing, pace and display of the film was great. I do feel the movie ended slightly abruptly and they could’ve showed us some more leading to this man’s death. Another negative I would say is that the movie lacked some music that I feel could have really added some more drama and enthusiasm to the film (but that could just be me). I really don’t know what else to say in this review so I guess it’s gonna be a bit short. Highly recommended film. I would put a disclaimer to prevent kids from watching this. Overall awesome!

 

Rating:

I would give this movie 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

